Giving Tuesday December 1 2020
Categories | Eligibility | Rules | Fees | How to Enter FAQs | Past Winners
Student Edward R. Murrow Awards

Student Murrow Awards
Since 1971, RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in broadcast and digital journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards. Among the most prestigious in news, the Murrow Awards recognize local and national news stories that uphold the RTDNA Code of Ethics, demonstrate technical expertise and exemplify the importance and impact of journalism as a service to the community. Murrow Award winning work demonstrates the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.

One Student Murrow Award will be awarded to an individual or team of individuals in each of five categories. Entries are judged on the national level and winners are recognized at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala.  

December 12, 2019 - Submissions Open
February 6, 2020 - Early Bird Submission Deadline
February 14, 2020 - Final Submission Deadline
October 10, 2020 - National winners are announced and honored at the Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala

  • Excellence in Audio Newscast
  • Excellence in Audio Reporting
  • Excellence in Video Newscast
  • Excellence in Video Reporting
  • Excellence in Digital Reporting
RTDNA will recognize one individual student or team of student winners in each category.
  • The competition is open to anyone enrolled in a high school, college or university in the United States, Canada or any other country. The name of the high school, college or university must be clearly referenced in the entry materials.
  • All entries must have been produced in 2019.
  • The work must be that of the student(s) and must have been produced while the entrant(s) was/were enrolled as a student and not employed in a professional news gathering capacity.
  • Work produced solely as a classroom exercise will not be eligible.  A classroom exercise is defined as an assignment for fulfillment of a course requirement unless it was also published, broadcast, or made available to the public on a digital platform.
  • Advisers and other faculty members may enter on behalf of their students; however, entries should be made in the name of an individual student or team of students, not in the name of a faculty member.

  • Newscast entries should consist of a complete newscast up to 30 minutes in length. If the newscast is longer than 30 minutes, submit only the first 30 minutes. Any commercial breaks must be removed from the entry but no other editing is allowed.
  • Audio and Video Reporting entries should consist of one piece, series, or package demonstrating exceptional news coverage and journalistic skill. Entries may not exceed 30 minutes in length and may be edited.
  • Entries not originally produced or broadcast in English should include English subtitles or a written English translation.
  • Voice-overs or narratives are permitted only if they were part of the original piece(s).
  • Judging will be based on the original work samples and not on the way the entry is produced.
  • Entries in the audio and video categories must be submitted in the form of a URL to the online awards site. Entries in the digital category must be functioning, cached or active URLs or applications that demonstrate exceptional news coverage and journalistic skill.
  • Incomplete entries will be disqualified.  Entrants will not be notified of such disqualification and their entry fees will not be refunded.
  • Material for the contest will not be returned.  Winning entries may be reproduced or posted on for educational or other purposes.
  • All entries must be uploaded to the online awards site. If an entry is mailed to RTDNA HQ and not uploaded to the online awards site, it will be disqualified.
  • Each entry must be accompanied by the correct entry fee.
  • At the discretion of the judges, awards may not be granted in some categories.
  • Decisions of the judges are final.
Judging Criteria
  • The depth and scope of the student’s/students’ journalistic ability.
  • Adherence to the RTDNA Code of Ethics.
  • Interactivity and use of multimedia tools (digital entries).
  • Accuracy and completeness.
  • Creativity.
  • Execution.

RTDNA Members: $20 per entry
Non-members: $40 per entry
Entries submitted by February 6 automatically receive a $5 early-bird discount. Entries submitted between February 7 & 14 are charged the regular rates listed above.
RTDNA accepts credit card payments from Visa, MasterCard and American Express.  Checks are not accepted.  No refunds will be issued.
Student Edward R. Murrow entries may also be entered into the professional Edward R. Murrow competition, so long as they meet the applicable criteria in the category or categories in which they are entered.


What does an entry include?
For the reporting categories, an entry should consist of one piece, package or series on the same topic - not a reel. For newscasts, submit a complete (up to 30-minute) regularly scheduled news program.

How do I submit more than one example of reporting? 
To submit multiple pieces of reporting, submit each as a separate entry.

Is there an entry limit? 
No. You may submit as many entries as you wish. You may submit more than one entry per category, and you may submit in more than one category. 
What types of pieces qualify for the digital reporting category? 
Digital entries will be judged on "interactivity and use of multimedia tools." Judges are looking for pieces that are not solely audio or video, but rather includes multiple, multi-media or interactive elements. For reference, here are links to past winners in this category: Wiped, Flashed, and Rekitted: The International Black Market of Stolen Cell Phones and Tired of Being Bumped, Caltrain Bike Commuters Push for More Space.

Can I enter if I’ve graduated? As long as you were a full-time student when the piece was produced (the piece must have been produced during 2019), and you did not receive financial compensation for producing the piece, you may enter it even if you have since graduated.

What are the categories? 
One national award will be presented in each of 5 categories: Excellence in Audio Newscast, Excellence in Audio Reporting, Excellence in Video Newscast, Excellence in Video Reporting, and Excellence in Digital Reporting.

What are the entry fees? 
Early Bird (through Feb. 6): $15/entry for members or $35 for non-members 
Regular rates (Feb. 7-14): $20/entry for members or $40 for non-members

When is the deadline? 
The submission deadline is February 14, 2020.

If you have additional questions, please contact us at:

Past Winners