Paul White Award

Named for the first news director of CBS, the Paul White Award is RTDNA's highest honor and recognizes an individual's lifetime contributions to electronic journalism. The Paul White Award is presented annually at RTDNA's conference.

2022 Recipient: Judy Woodruff, PBS NewsHour

Richard Engel accepts Hogan award

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) is pleased to honor Judy Woodruff with the 2022 Paul White Award for her achievements in and contributions to the field of electronic journalism.

“The Paul White Award is RTDNA’s highest honor, and Judy Woodruff has been a trailblazer in journalism,” said RTDNA Nominating Committee Chair Andrea Stahlman. “She has spent her career holding the most influential decision-makers in Washington accountable, and has done so with grace, humility and dedication to the truth.”

Photo: BP Miller / Chorus Photography


Remarks & Acceptance



Past Recipients

2021: Susan Zrinsky

2020: Byron Pitts

2019: Scott Pelly

2018: Bill Whitaker

2017: Lester Holt

2016: Charlie Rose

2015: Lesley Stahl

2014: Dick Ebersol

2013: Chris Wallace

2012: Jeff Fager

2011: Linda Ellerbee

2010: Steve Kroft

2009: Fred Young

2008: Sam Donaldson, Tim Russert

2007: Christiane Amanpour

2006: Charles Gibson

2005: Charles Osgood

2004: Ted Koppel

2003: Bob Schieffer

2002: Tom Brokaw

2001: Jim McKay

2000: Ed Bradley

1999: Tom Johnson

1998: Jane Pauley

1997: Dan Rather

1996: Bernard Shaw

1995: Peter Jennings

1994: Charles Kuralt

1993: Ed Bliss

1992: Paul Harvey

1991: Mike Wallace

1990: Robert MacNeil, Jim Lehrer

1989: R.E. "Ted" Turner

1988: Douglas Edwards

1987: Don Hewitt

1986: Fred Friendly

1985: Barbara Walters

1984: Ralph Renick

1983: John Chancellor

1982: David Brinkley

1981: Walter Cronkite

1980: Pauline Frederick

1979: Dick Salant

1978: Bill Monroe

1977: Eric Sevareid

1976: Ted Koop

1975: Elmer Lower

1974: Bill Small

1973: Julian Goodman

1972: Sam Ervin

1971: Dr. Frank Stanton

1970: Walter Cronkite

1969: Judge Herbert B. Walker

1968: W. Theodore Pierson

1967: Sol Taishoff

1966: Morley Safer

1965: Ralph Blumberg

1964: Edward R. Murrow

1962: Howard K. Smith

1961: John F. Kennedy

1959: Jim Hagerty

1958: Robert D. Swezey

1957: Dr. Frank Stanton

1956: Hugh Terry