John F. Hogan Distinguished Service Award

2024 Recipient: Andrew Heyward


Andrew Heyward, the former president of CBS News and vocal champion of local TV news, will be the 2024 recipient of the prestigious John F. Hogan Distinguished Service Award. 

Named for the founder and first president of RTDNA, the John F. Hogan Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual's contributions to the journalism profession and freedom of the press. 

“Andrew has been a true leader in broadcasting for decades and remains committed to helping local news thrive,” said RTDNA Chair Tim Scheld. “It is a true honor to be able to recognize his contributions to our industry.”

Heyward will be honored at RTDNA24 in Milwaukee


Past Recipients

2023: Boyd Hyppert

2022: Richard Engel

2021: Soledad O'Brien

2020: Yamiche Alcindo

2019: John Quiñones

2018: Pete Williams

2017: Jake Tapper

2016: Jeffrey Marks

2015: Pierre Thomas

2014: Harvey Nagler

2013: Belva Davis

2012: Jorge Ramos

2011: Lara Logan

2010: Bob Priddy

2009: Barbara Cochran

2006: Christopher Glenn

2005: Don Fitzpatrick

2000: Stanley S. Hubbard, Jack Shelley

1999: Hugh Downs

1997: Walter Cronkite

1996: Sherlee Barish

1992: Terry Anderson

1991: Brian Lamb, Ed Godfrey, Bob Packwood, John Spain

1989: Gordon Manning, Dick Yoakum

1988: Vernon Stone

1987: Malvin Goode, J. Laurent Scharff

1986: Robert Byrd, Mark Fowler

1985: Ron Laidlaw

1984: Paul Davis

1983: Sig Mickelson

1981: Len Allen

1980: John Salisbury

1979: Rob Downey

1978: Col. Barney Oldfield

1974: Gordon Sinclair

1971: Charlie Edwards

1967: Ted Yates

1964: Robert Kintner

1962: David Sarnoff

1959: Frank Stanton