Edward R. Murrow Awards Promotion Guidelines

Edward R. Murrow Awards logo

The RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards are among the most prestigious in broadcast and digital news.
The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of broadcast and digital journalism.
Murrow Awards are presented to news organizations, not individuals (except in the Student categories). All awards are presented based on the specific body of work submitted.
Regional Murrow Awards are presented to small and large radio, television and digital outlets based on 14 geographic regions. Regional winners are automatically considered for a National award. Network competitors are judged at the national level.

Regional Award Promotion

Use “Regional Murrow Award” or “Regional Edward R. Murrow Award”
Do not use “Murrow Award” without including Regional

Use “under consideration for a National Murrow Award” or “advancing to the National Murrow Award competition”
Do not use “nominated”
Use RTDNA or Radio Television Digital News Association
DO NOT use RTNDA or Radio Television News Directors Association (these are former names)
Images & Graphics
Regional winners may use either the square logo or rectangular banner, including the "winner" banner. Regional winners may not use the medallion or Murrow silhouette image alone.

National Award Promotion

Use “Murrow Award,” “Edward R. Murrow Award” or “National Murrow Award”
Use RTDNA or Radio Television Digital News Association
DO NOT use RTNDA or Radio Television News Directors Association (these are former names)
Images & Graphics

National Murrow Award winners may use the Murrow Award logos as well as the Murrow medallion, which can be downloaded below.

Murrow Medallion (JPG)

Murrow Medallion (PNG)

Murrow Medallion (EPS)

Five Ways to Promote Your Win

  1. Add “Edward R. Murrow Award Winner” to your professional biography and social media profile bios, including LinkedIn, Facebook and Twitter. 
  2. Share a link to the Murrow-winning piece across your social media platforms and add commentary that explains how it demonstrates responsible journalism. Remember to tag @RTDNA and use #Murrow when sharing.
  3. Explain to your audience why winning a Murrow Award matters using the following language:
    • The Murrow Awards are the embodiment of the values, principles and standards set forth by Edward R. Murrow, a journalism pioneer who set the standards for the highest quality of broadcast journalism.
    • Murrow Award winning stories put public interest above all else, provide a catalyst for public discussion, and adhere to the RTDNA Code of Ethics.
    • Of the awards given to journalists, the Murrow Awards are among the most respected journalism awards in the world.
    • Responsible journalism helps to expose corruption and shines a light on problems that would otherwise go unnoticed.
  4. Share some of Edward Murrow’s most famous quotes about the value of journalism:
    • “We must not confuse dissent with disloyalty. When the loyal opposition dies, I think the soul of America dies with it.”
    • “To be persuasive we must be believable; to be believable we must be credible; credible we must be truthful.”
    • “The speed of communications is wondrous to behold. It is also true that speed can multiply the distribution of information that we know to be untrue.”
    • “Difficulty is the excuse history never accepts.”
  5. Record a 30-second or less video about what winning a Murrow Award means to you. Tag @RTDNA (On Instagram: @rtdna.rtdnf) and use #Murrow when sharing.

Other Things to Know

  • Awards are presented to organizations, not individuals. Individuals may add Murrow Award language to biographies and social profiles. RTDNA does not verify individual employment work on Murrow-winning pieces.
  • RTDNA.org winner pages should be considered the definitive list of Murrow Award winners.
  • One Regional plaque per award is presented to the winning station with details as submitted on the award entry form. Personalized duplicates may be ordered for individuals.
  • Regional winners automatically advance to national judging, which also includes national network entries.
  • One National trophy per award is presented to the winning station, with details as submitted on the award entry form.