Back to Events
2023 First Amendment Awards

2023 First Amendment Awards

Honoring those who practice, promote and defend journalism each year

Thursday, March 2, 2023
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM (EST)

* Registration open until 2/28/23 at 7:00 PM (EST)

Event Details

step-and-repeat group photo

The RTDNA Foundation, the charitable arm of the Radio Television Digital News Association, honors those who practice, promote and defend journalism each year at the First Amendment Awards. We celebrate these awards at our First Amendment Awards in March each year in Washington, DC.

Past honorees include local reporters, network anchors, members of the U.S. House of Representatives and multiple U.S. Senators. The awards honor the First Amendment and the bold and brave efforts many take — whether in an instant or throughout their careers — to protect it.

The Foundation works for an America in which the press is able to hold the powerful to account, shine a light on corruption, and act as a catalyst for positive change in local communities without denial of access, undue restriction, or fear of attack. We train and equip local journalists and journalism students to know their rights and seek and report truth ethically — upholding your right to know.

Master of Ceremonies

Weijia headshot

Weijia Jiang, CBS News


Read the Full Announcement

Rashida Jones
Maria Hinojosa
Rashida Jones
Maria Hinojosa
Futuro Media

Jordan Wertlieb
Keith Woods
Jordan Wertlieb
Keith Woods
Hearst Television
Hilde Lysiak
Connie Walker
Hilde Lysiak
Connie Walker
Nogales High School
Okanese First Nation
Sarah Koenig
Boyd Huppert
Sarah Koenig
Boyd Huppert
Serial Productions
Jeff German

Jeff German (Posthumous)
Las Vegas Review-Journal


March 2
6:00 PM - 7:00 PM Cocktail Reception
7:00 PM - 10:00 PM Dinner & Show

For More Information:

Christen DeBard
Christen DeBard
Director of Events and Education Radio Television Digital News Association (202)221-4279

Diamond Sponsor banner Hearst Television logoPlatinum sponsor banner

NEFE logo

 TEGNA logo

gold sponsor banner

ACLU logo

AP logo

Comcast logo

chorus photography logo

CNN logo

CNN Newsource logo

NBC universal news group logo

scripps logo

Sinclair logo

stephen arnold music logo

The Washington Post logo

silver sponsors banner

CBS logo

nexstar logo

UPS logo

wiley logo

friend sponsor banner

ABC logo

NAB logo

spotify logo