RTDNA Announces 2022 National Edward R. Murrow Award Winners

Awards, RTDNA News,

The Radio Television Digital News Association today announced the national winners of the 2022 Edward R. Murrow Awards. These awards recognize more than 100 outlets for outstanding work in digital, radio and television journalism in technical and editorial categories.

“The Edward R. Murrow Awards are among the most prestigious in journalism,” said RTDNA President and CEO Dan Shelley. “More than 750 Regional Murrow winners advanced to the national competition, and over the past few months, an expert panel of journalists has meticulously reviewed and deliberated over every entry. That’s why I’m confident in saying today’s winners represent the absolute best of the best. So let me be the first to say congratulations to our newest National Edward R. Murrow Award winners.”

There were more than 5,200 entries this year. In May, RTDNA recognized winners of the Regional Murrow Awards, which automatically advanced to the national competition.

This year’s winners covered a challenging year of events: the January 6 siege on the U.S. Capitol to the end of the war in Afghanistan, the continuing devastation of the COVID-19 pandemic, the climate-fueled natural disasters and so much more. 

“Thank you to every journalist who played a role in the pieces that were submitted,” said RTDNA Chair Allison McGinley. “Not everyone can be a Murrow Award winner, but all of you make a difference in your communities. Thank you for the work you do.”

Eight organizations received national awards for Overall Excellence in their categories.

Those winners are:

  • Small Digital News Organization: Grist
  • Large Digital News Organization: The Texas Tribune
  • Small Market Radio: WVTF/Radio IQ, Roanoke, VA 
  • Large Market Radio: Texas Public Radio, San Antonio, TX 
  • Radio Network: CBS News Radio
  • Small Market Television: WGME-TV, Portland, ME 
  • Large Market Television: KUSA-TV, Denver, CO
  • Television Network: NBC News

View the complete national winner list here.

In addition to the National Winners, eight student organizations from seven universities were winners of National Student Murrow awards this year. View those winners here

Among the most prestigious awards in news, the Murrow Awards recognize local and national news stories that uphold the RTDNA Code of Ethics, demonstrate technical expertise and exemplify the importance and impact of journalism as a service to the community. Murrow Award-winning work demonstrates the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.

RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with these awards since 1971.

Winners will be celebrated at the Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala on Oct. 10 in New York City.