RTDNA Congratulates 2023 National Edward R. Murrow Award Recipients

Awards, RTDNA News,

Earlier today, the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) unveiled the national winners of the 2023 Edward R. Murrow Awards. More than 100 outlets were honored for their exceptional contributions in digital, radio, and television journalism.

"The Edward R. Murrow Awards serve as a testament to the unwavering dedication of journalists who illuminate the world with their stories,” said RTDNA President and CEO Dan Shelley. “These awards celebrate not just excellence, but the very essence of journalism that shapes our understanding of events and fosters a more informed society." 

This year’s Murrow awards celebrated outstanding journalism performed in 2022, a history-making year that included:: the Supreme Court’s reversal of Roe v. Wade, the deadliest shooting at a Texas public school in Uvalde, the aftermath of Hurricane Ian — the deadliest hurricane since 2005 — and numerous other significant events.

“The Edward R. Murrow Awards remind us that journalism is a powerful force for truth and accountability,” said RTDNA Chair Tim Scheld. “These awards honor those who courageously navigate the complexities of our world to deliver stories that matter, stories that resonate, and stories that uphold the integrity of our profession."

In various categories, eight organizations clinched national awards for their Overall Excellence.

Here are the winners of the Overall Excellence awards:

  • Small Digital News Organization: Center for Public Integrity: Investigating Inequality – Washington D.C.
  • Large Digital News Organization: The Texas Tribune – Austin, TX
  • Small Market Radio: WCHS MetroNews Radio – Charleston, WV 
  • Large Market Radio: Texas Public Radio News – San Antonio, TX 
  • Radio Network: ABC News
  • Small Market Television: WPRI – Providence, RI
  • Large Market Television: WFAA – Dallas, TX
  • Television Network: ABC News

In addition to the National Winners, RTDNA recognized eight student organizations from seven universities as recipients of the National Student Murrow awards. 

A full list of all the winners of the 2023 National Murrow Awards can be accessed here.

The Murrow Awards are recognized as one of the most prestigious accolades in the news sphere, celebrating local and national journalism that aligns with the RTDNA Code of Ethics, showcases technical prowess, and underscores the significance and influence of journalism as a community service. The honored work echoes the excellence that Edward R. Murrow established as the gold standard in broadcast news. 

Since 1971, RTDNA has been honoring achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards. 

The winners will be celebrated at the Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala, coming Oct. 9 to Gotham Hall in New York City. We at RTDNA extend our heartfelt congratulations to this year’s recipients of the National Edward R. Murrow Awards.