Entries Now Open For 2023 Edward R. Murrow Awards


The Radio Television Digital News Association is now accepting entries for the 2023 Edward R. Murrow Awards!

The Murrow Awards celebrate excellence in broadcast and digital journalism at the professional and student levels. To be eligible work must have been published between Jan. 1, 2022 and Dec. 31, 2022. 

The deadline for entry is 5 p.m. EST, Tuesday, Feb. 7. 

Submit Entries for the 2023 Edward R. Murrow Awards

Entries must be submitted as first heard on air or viewed online.
See the full rules and eligibility

The Murrow Awards, first handed out in 1971, are among the most prestigious in journalism. In 2022, more than 5,000 entries were submitted in the professional and student categories, also making it one of the most competitive. 

Regional winners will be announced in the Spring during #MurrowMay. All regional winners automatically advance to the national competition, which will be announced in August. National winners will be celebrated at the 2023 Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala, to be held Oct. 9, 2023, at Gotham Hall in New York City. 

Any questions about eligibility can be directed to awards@rtdna.org

Entrants are strongly encouraged to read the complete rules and category descriptions prior to submission. 

The Murrow Awards recognize local and national news stories that uphold the RTDNA Code of Ethics, demonstrate technical expertise and exemplify the importance and impact of journalism as a service to the community. Murrow Award-winning work demonstrates the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.

Photo: BP Miller / Chorus Photography