RTDNA Announces 2021 National Edward R. Murrow Award Winners

Awards, RTDNA News,

The Radio Television Digital News Association today announced the national winners of the 2021 Edward R. Murrow Awards. These awards recognize more than 100 outlets for outstanding work in digital, radio and television journalism in technical and editorial categories.

"A core pillar of RTDNA is celebrating the best in journalism, and one of the ways we do that is through the Edward R. Murrow Awards," said RTDNA Executive Director Dan Shelley. "This year especially, we are honored to recognize outstanding achievements in broadcast and digital journalism. The past 18 months have been some of the most challenging in the history of our profession, and these recipients — among thousands of other journalists — clearly fulfilled their obligations to serve the public."

There were more than 5,200 entries this year. In May, RTDNA recognized more than 750 winners of the Regional Murrow Awards, which automatically advanced to the national competition.

Eight organizations received national awards for Overall Excellence in their categories.

Those winners are:

  • Small market radio: WBHM, Birmingham, Ala. 
  • Large market radio: WLRN News, Miami 
  • Radio Network: ABC News
  • Small Market Television: WISC-TV, Madison, Wis. 
  • Large Market Television: WBBM-TV, Chicago
  • Television Network: ABC News
  • Small Digital News Organization: International Consortium of Investigative Journalists
  • Large Digital News Organization: STAT

In addition to the National Winners, eight student organizations from six universities were winners of National Student Murrow awards this year.

Among the most prestigious awards in news, the Murrow Awards recognize local and national news stories that uphold the RTDNA Code of Ethics, demonstrate technical expertise and exemplify the importance and impact of journalism as a service to the community. Murrow Award winning work demonstrates the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.

RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with these awards since 1971.

Winners will be celebrated at the Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala on Oct. 27 in New York City.